The application process for German and other candidates holding a relevant German degree

Application to the Master's degree commences with an online registration.You may check the status of a submitted application at URL: http://www.physik.uni-heidelberg.de/applications/login Please note, that only successful applicants will be notified in writing.

Application process

German applicants and applicants from the members states of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as foreign nationals with the same status as German students (Bildungsinländer/innen) ; International Applicants with a German 'Abitur' or/and a German Bachelor's Degree should use the online application form, that is linked on the right hand side of this web page.

Complete this form, and send a printout of it together with the other application materials listed below to the following address:

Universität Heidelberg

MASTER / PHYSIK

Postfach 10 57 60

D- 69047 Heidelberg

Germany

Plrease note, that the whole application procedure including the interview must be completed by the last day of the semester preceding the one in which you wish to commence your studies.

List of required documents

Your application must include the following documents:

 

  1. The completed printed version of the application form (Online form, see link on right hand side);
  2. Officially certified photocopies or typescripts of certificates obtained from university and other tertiary education (i.e. colleges, academies etc.) including
    1. the relevant transcripts of individual grades per semester or academic year (transcript of records), especially those of the fifth semester if the final grade has not yet been awarded commensurate with 150 ECTS credit points;
    2. the diploma supplement. In addition, if the documents are not in German or English an officially certified translation into German is required.
  3. a curriculum vitae
  4. an affidavit, i.e. a legally binding declaration of the applicant, whether the applicant has lost the entitlement to finalise master degree studies in physics or degree courses of similiar type and contents as well as to whether the applicant is in the process of finalising such kind of the aforementioned degree courses;
  5. an officially certified photocopy or typescript of the school leaving certificate that entitles the student to enter university in their country of origin (e.g. abitur, baccalauréat, GCE, A & O level, matriculation certificate, etc.) including the relevant list of individual grades. In addition, an officially certified translation in German is required (except for documents in English).

Selection procedure

You can apply for two majors with different priority. Applications will only be considered with an above average degree (corresponding to mark 2,9 in German grading system). The Selection process is a three-step procedure:

 

  1. An initial ranking is made based on the grade of the bachelor degree or the average grade of the last (fifth) semester, if the final grade is not yet available (max 15 points).
  2. An interview will be held. Here you can prove your personal motivation and qualification.
  3. If the the sum of points scored in step 1 plus those obtained in step 2 is greater or equal to 16 points, admission to the master degree programme will be granted.

Interviews

The dates for interviews are not yet fixed.

Your invitation to an interview will be sent to you electronically, i.e. via email, only. In addition, your application number, which is issued upon online application will be published on the internet.

Acceptance and admission

Should you be accepted, you will receive a letter of acceptance (Zulassungsbescheinigung). You require this document for your enrolment at the University.

Important!

Please note that we do not return any application material submitted to us. It will be destroyed after the application procedure is finally closed. The online application portal and forms are available during the application period only. The Bachelor's Degree must have been finalised at the beginning of the desired semester of entry the latest.

 
up

Das Bewerbungsverfahren für deutsche und ihnen gleichgestellte Bewerbende

Die Bewerbung für das Master-Studium erfolgt über eine Online-Anmeldung. Der Status einer Bewerbung kann unter URL: http://www.physik.uni-heidelberg.de/applications/login abgefragt werden. Nur erfolgreiche Bewerbungen erhalten eine schriftliche Benachrichtigung.

Anmeldeverfahren

Bewerber aus Deutschland und dem europäischen Raum (EU/EWR-Staaten) sowie Bildungsinländer/innen, ausländische Kandidaten mit einem deutschen Abitur und/oder einem deutschen Bachelorabschluss verwenden für ihre Anmeldung bitte das Online-Formular (siehe rechte Spalte).

Senden Sie einen Ausdruck dieses Formulars mit den weiter unten aufgeführten Bewerbungsunterlagen bis spätestens zum Ende des Vorsemesters (Ausschlussfrist) bitte an:

Universität Heidelberg

MASTER / PHYSIK

Postfach 10 57 60

D- 69047 Heidelberg

Germany

Liste aller notwendigen Bewerbungsunterlagen

Ihre Bewerbung muss folgende Unterlagen enthalten:

  1. ein vollständig ausgefülltes Bewerbungsformular (Online-Formular, siehe rechts);
  2. beglaubigte Kopien aller Urkunden seit dem Schulabschluss sowie
    1. Bescheinigung aller Noten pro Semester ('Transcript of records'), insbesondere des fünften Semesters, falls die Endnote noch nicht feststeht (entsprechend 150 ECTS Kreditpunkten);
    2. Beilagen zum Diplom. Wenn die Unterlagen nicht in deutsch oder englisch sind, so ist zusätzlich eine beglaubigte Übersetzung ins Deutsche erforderlich;
  3. einen Lebenslauf;
  4. eine Erklärung darüber, ob der Studienbewerber oder die Studienbewerberin an einer in- oder ausländischen Hochschule im Masterstudiengang Physik oder in Studiengängen mit im Wesentlichen gleichem Inhalt den Prüfungsanspruch verloren hat oder sich in einem laufenden Prüfungsverfahren in einem dieser Studiengänge befindet;
  5. eine beglaubigte Kopie oder Abschrift des Abschlusszeugnisses der Schule, das es dem Kandidaten ermöglicht, sich bei einer Heimatuniversität zu bewerben (z. B. Abitur, Baccalauréat, GCE, A & O level, sonstige Zertifikate etc.), einschließlich der gültigen Bescheinigung der einzelnen Noten. Zusätzlich ist eine beglaubigte Übersetzung ins Deutsche erforderlich (außer für englische Unterlagen).

Auswahlverfahren

Sie können sich für zwei verschiedene Schwerpunkte bewerben. Nur solche Bewerbungen werden berücksichtigt, deren BSc-Durschnittsnote mindestens einer 2,9 (im deutschen Bewertungssystem) entspricht. Das Auswahlverfahren ist ein mehrstufiges Verfahren:

 

  1. Es wird zunächst die Durchschnittsnote des Bachelor-Zeugnisses oder der Durchschnittsnote des letzten (fünften) Semester-Transkrpts - falls die Endnote noch nicht verfügbar ist - in eine Punktzahl von 7 bis  maximal 15 Punkte umgerechnet.
  2. alle Kandidaten die im ersten Schritt mindestens 7 Punkte erreichen, werden zu einem Bewerbungsgespräch eingeladen. Hier können Sie Ihre persönliche Motivation und Qualifikation unter Beweis stellen. Es werden 4 Punkte für Motivation und 10 für das Fachwissen vergeben.
  3. Wenn die Summe der erreichten Punkte in Stufe 1 und der aus Stufe 2 größer oder gleich 16 ist, wird die Zulassung in das Masterprogramm erteilt.

Bewerbungsgespräche

Die Termine für die Bewerbungsgespräche stehen noch nicht fest.

Die Einladung zu einem Gespräch wird Ihnen elektronisch zugesandt, d.h. nur per E-Mail. Zusätzlich wird Ihre Bewerbungsnummer, die bei Ihrer Online-Bewerbung ausgestellt wurde, im Internet veröffentlicht.

Zulassungsbescheinigung

Falls Sie von der Kommission angenommen werden, erhalten Sie eine Zulassungsbescheinigung. Sie benötigen diesen Bescheinigung für die Einschreibung an der Universität.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir eingereichte Bewerbungsunterlagen nicht zurücksenden. Diese werden nach dem Abschluss des Bewerbungsverfahrens vernichtet. Das Online-Bewerbungs-Portal und die Formulare sind nur während des Bewerbungszeitraums verfügbar. Der Abschluss muss bis zu Beginn des Semesters vorliegen, zu dem die Zulassung in den Master-Studiengang Physik angestrebt wird.

 
zum Seitenanfang