General Information

Students obtain a deeper understanding of physical phenomena and an introduction to current research.
 

The aim of the master's programme is to provide a profound research oriented education in physics, as well as a general knowledge of important scientific methods of physics. In addition, students may obtain specific knowledge in fields tangential to physics, depending on the modules that they choose. The master's programme is conceived as a preparatory degree that is necessary for entering the doctoral programme thereafter. To this end, there is a comprehensive teaching programme, offering both in-depth generalized courses as well as highly specialized courses in the specific research fields of the University. In particular, the master's programme at the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Heidelberg is characterized by an extremely wide choice of options for study, enabling every student to orient his studies in his/her fields of preference.

 

The structure of the master's degree in physics is such that it is divided into two parts. Two semesters are foreseen for furthering the education via lectures, seminars and the attendance of other forms of educational events, while the second phase of the master's degree is devoted to research. In this second phase, the students are eld into performing independent research and developing the ability to open up new areas of research. This research period culminates with the master's thesis.

 

After completion of the first year of the two year long degree course, i.e. the specialisation phase, the student has gained advanced knowledge about a specific research field. The student also is able to understand the content of the individual modules in a larger context, and he or she is able to transfer some of this knowledge to other fields of physics. The student has gained a deeper understanding of the intentions and difficulties of modern research in physics or another physics related area. He or she has learned how to handle modern literature and how to extract information from present-day physics publications.

 

After completing the second year, i.e. the research phase, the student is familiar with scientific research and well positioned to pursue a successful career as physicist in academia or industry.

Important:

The Master's educational programme is held in English. Excellent knowledge of the English language is therefore a prerequisite for successful studies.
 
up

Allgemeine Informationen

Studentinnen und Studenten erhalten ein tieferes Verständnis der Physik und eine Einführung in die aktuelle Forschung.
 

Ziel des Masterstudiengangs ist es, eine tief gehende, an der Forschung orientierte Ausbildung in Physik sowie ein allgemeines Grundwissen über wichtige wissenschaftliche Methoden zu vermitteln. Zusätzlich können die Studierenden spezielle Fachkenntnisse in Gebieten erwerben, die an die Physik angrenzen, je nachdem welche Kurse sie wählen. Der Masterstudiengang ist als Vorbereitungsabschluss gedacht, der notwendig ist, um im Anschluss daran mit dem Promotionsstudium zu beginnen. Das Masterstudium beinhaltet ein reichhaltiges Ausbildungsangebot, das sowohl tief gehende allgemeine Kurse, als auch hoch spezialisierte Kurse in den spezifischen Forschungsgebieten der Universität beinhaltet. Der Masterstudiengang der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg zeichnet sich insbesondere durch ein sehr breites Studienangebot aus, das jedem Studenten die Möglichkeit gibt, sein Studium nach seinen eigenen Präferenzen auszurichten.

 

Die Struktur des Heidelberger Masterstudiums Physik ist zweigeteilt und besteht aus zwei Semestern für die Weiterbildung durch Vorlesungen, Seminare und andere Lehrveranstaltungen, und einer darauf folgenden einjährigen Forschungsphase, in der die Masterstudentinnen und -studenten selbstständig wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und die Fähigkeit zur Erschließung neuartiger Sachverhalte erlernen. Die Forschungsphase beinhaltet eine Vorbereitungszeit sowie die eigentliche Masterarbeit.

 

Absolventen verfügen über vertiefte Kenntnisse in einem Forschungsgebiet der Physik oder eines benachbarten Feldes. Sie sind in der Lage die Inhalte der absolvierten Studieneinheiten in einem größeren Kontext zu verstehen und auf anderen Gebieten anzuwenden. Absolventen weisen ein vertieftes Verständnis der Ziele und Grenzen physikalischer Forschung auf und wissen wie aus  aktuellen Veröffentlichungen die wesentlichen Informationen extrahiert werden.

 

Absolventen erlangen während der Forschungsphase die Promotionsreife und sind somit in der Lage, eigenverantwortlich Forschung zu planen und ins Werk zu setzen, sowie zielführend in einem Team wesentliche Projektbeiträge zu leisten.

 

Wichtig:

Das Ausbildungsprogramm im Masterstudium findet überwiegend in englischer Sprache statt. Gute Englischkenntnisse sind daher Voraussetzung für ein erfolgreiches Studium.
 
zum Seitenanfang